News Alert

TR Zeliang wins trust motion


Kohima, July 21, 2017: The Eighteenth (Emergent) Session of the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly was held on Friday.

The Governor of Nagaland, PB Acharya had earlier, after administering the oath of office to the Chief Minister, TR Zeliang had asked him to prove his majority in the house by July 22. The Eighteenth (Emergent) Session summoned for the same witnessed the Motion of Confidence moved by the Chief Minister, TR Zeliang.

The Motion of Confidence was passed by a total of 47 votes to 11, with 47 members voting in favor and 11 against.

Earlier on the issue of the two counter whips issued by the two sides, Chotisuh Sazo, Yitachu, Vikheho Swu, P. Longon, Thongwang Konyak, R.Tohanba, C.L John and Kuzholuzo Nienu participated in the debate. Later the Chief Minister, TR Zeliang gave a reply to the points made during the debate.

After the vote on the Motion of Confidence, the Speaker Nagaland Legislative Assembly, Dr. Imtiwapang Aier adjourned the house sine-die.