Back You are here: Home > News Alert > BJP MLAs ‘independent’ in assembly!

News Alert

BJP MLAs ‘independent’ in assembly!


Agartala, November 14, 2017: Entity of six MLAs who earlier joined BJP from Trinamool Congress hangs in balance with refusal of Speaker of Tripura assembly to recognize them as of saffron party. The MLAs led by Sudip Roy Barman last year deserted from Congress to join TMC and again defected for BJP on August 9 last were demanding fresh recognition.

But Speaker rejected the plea of the legislators who were supposed to mark first presence of BJP in state assembly.  However the matter created huge confusion whether the six deserters whom state’s Health Minister Badal Choudhury mocked as ‘Aya Ram Gaya Ram’ anymore enjoys party status or they would be taken as independents.

Roy Barman himself turned the question to Speaker during a heated exchange with Badal Choudhury on second day of last session of assembly on Tuesday. Speaker confirmed of receiving representation from them, but announced his inability to recognize them as forming a separate BJP block as matter requires response from Trinamool Congress and opinion of legal experts.

Agitated MLAs then rushed to the well of the houses and staged protests in front of Speaker. They even blamed him of working at behest of ruling CPI(M).