Back You are here: Home > News Alert > Committee to study Naga commission

News Alert

Committee to study Naga commission

A Correspondent
Kohima, September 6, 2010: Chief Secretary to the Government of Nagaland, Lalthara, IAS in a Notification informed that the Government of Nagaland has constituted a committee to look into the issues connected with the collection of Naga Commission. The committee consists of Additional Chief Secretary & Commissioner, Nagaland, Banuo Z. Jamir as Chairman, Secretary Home & LR, Meilemla, Secretary Forest, Elusing Meru, Secretary Law, Nihoto Chishi as members and OSD, Revenue, Ashi  Khieya as member secretary.  

The terms of reference includes, studying the historical background to the practice of Naga Commission in the State including Dimapur, to examine the constitutional, legal and administrative validity of the collection of Naga Commission in the State, to examine the representations submitted by the Naga Council Dimapur.  

It is also to suggest the legal and administrative measures to deal with the matters relating to collection of Naga Commission/Tax by Naga Council, and collection of any other taxes, fees/tolls etc by any other organisation in Nagaland. The Committee will submit its report within 3 months.